One of these things is not like the other

For the first 22 years of my life, my family history was a mystery to me.

I’ve never felt like my parents weren’t my parents, but I did feel like I couldn’t claim their heritage as my heritage on account of they look nothing like me.

Not even a little bit.

My father is Middle Eastern and my mother is Russian and Polish.

One look at my family and the song “one of these things is not like the other” plays.

I always wanted to meet my birth parents because I wanted to know my family history.

My DNA, as it turns out, tells me that I’m Norwegian and Portuguese on one side while the other side is French, German, and British.

Quite the hodge podge of DNA.

I’m about as blond and blue eyed as they get.

Well, I had NO IDEA where the Norwegian came from until I talked to my PATERNAL aunt who reminded me that my birth mom’s father was Norwegian.

What a roundabout way to find out where you came from!

I had a great-grandmother named Engaborg (Ingeborg?) who loved the Lawrence Welk Show and giving sugar eggs for Easter and was actually full-blooded Norwegian.

So, if any of you wonder why I look Nordic but cook Middle Eastern food like a native and can make pierogis and stuffed cabbage like a true Polish mother, it’s because I get to claim ALL OF MY HISTORY NOW.

I think the best part about being an adoptee is getting to be a blend of a little bit of everything from your birthfamily to your adoptive family.

In a way, I feel like the patchwork quilts I make:  a little of this, a little of that, and a whole lot of love packed into a nice bundle.

From Sweden to Norway with love

With the Swede happily engaged, what’s a girl to do but move on?

I met a Norwegian.

Like an honest-to-goodness-lives-in-Norway Norwegian!

Sweet.

Kind.

Thoughtful.

Opened doors for me.

And just because it’s weighing on my mind, I asked him if I could move “back” to Norway if the outcome of the Presidential election is not to my liking.

Norway, if you can believe it, maintains universal health care and a comprehensive social security system, and its values are rooted in egalitarian ideals.

I think I would love Norway, except for all that SNOW!

The funny thing is, though my 23 and Me test can definitely tell me I had relatives in Portugal (my maternal grandmother was Portuguese) and Norway, no one in my birthfamily has ever mentioned Norway.

Switzerland, yes.

Ireland, yes.

But Norway, no.

If I thought meeting my birthfamily would clear up the “where did I come from” question, I was wrong.

Norway is still a mystery to me.

But now perhaps I can plan a trip to the motherland seeing as how I have a new Norwegian friend.

From Sweden to Norway, with love!

 

I’m a quilter

I am a quilter.

I have no idea WHERE the desire to quilt comes from.

I’m not a particularly PATIENT person.

I don’t think of myself as terribly ARTISTIC.

And yet, I quilt.

I’ve made upwards of 30 – 40 quilts so far.

I’ve given all of them away as gifts to friends, families, and ex-boyfriends.

The things I do when I’m in love.

Oy!

Anyway, as it turns out, quilting may be in my DNA.

The Norwegians have a long tradition of quilting.

And I discovered that the lodge I’m trying to join has a history of quilting:

I’m hoping, should they ever respond to my request to join, that this will work in my favor.

I’m a quilter AND a little bit Norwegian.

Check out some of my quilts (sorry for the bad lighting):

Bride for sale

michelleBride for sale

Preowned American bride seeking international husband.

  • 43 years mileage.
  • Blonde hair, blue eyes, curvy body including natural double D’s.
  • Tallish and likes wearing heels.
  • Can cook but likes takeout.
  • Professional event manager so can throw a great party.
  • Likes beer, wine, and cocktails.
  • Decent single malt fan.
  • Roots for the 49ers, SF Giants, Golden State Warriors, and SJ Sharks.
  • Can change my own oil and repair a flat tire but prefers to let AAA handle it whenever possible.
  • Makes a brilliant beurre blanc sauce.
  • Can clean an abalone in under 30 seconds.
  • Knows how to bait my own hook.
  • Experienced mattress dancer (wink, wink).
  • Slightly kinky, open to suggestions.
  • Loves camping, music, sporting events, hanging out with friends and family, and playing poker.
  • Willing to relocate

Voted for Hillary.